The white flag has been raised

August 1, 2011 at 11:22 pm Leave a comment

With Galway races on this week I’ve been a little distracted by racing.  In racing just before the start of a race a steward raises a white flag to indicate the race is about to start.  It feels like that now for all involved with the Irish Warriors with last minute preparations underway before we fly out next weekend.  The Irish players have announced their heights to the rest of the world, I know how tall the Irish based guys are but there are some really tall lads in the Oz based Irish contingent with Larry Kavanagh the tallest of them at 2.01m or in old money six foot 8 and a half inches!  He could be good for blocking out the wind if it gets cold in Oz.  I used think I was relatively tall at about 185cm but I’ll be dwarfed by these guys, I might have to start wearing high heels.

I was reading this week that Martin Clarke from Co Down will not be returning to Collingwood as they think they don’t need him at the moment.  I’m a Pies fan so it’s a pity he will have to go elsewhere.  He’ll now hope to get picked by another club, one probably much further down the ladder.

Back to racing, the Galway races are our equivalent of the Spring Carnaval in Melbourne.  I was there on Wednesday as my mother was picking up an award for breeding the highest rated steeplechaser in the Irish Thoroughbred Breeders Association Western Region, Aiteenthirtythree.  My mother has been either riding or breeding horses all her life and the horses she has breed are all far better gallopers than me.  It was fitting that she should be awarded this accolade after a lifetimes involvement in National Hunt horse racing.

My mother with her award

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

A score or not a score and other news Meet the team

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gold Sponsors

Life Consulting logo
Life and Balance Centre logo

Recent Posts

Archives


