London Calling

July 4, 2011 at 6:23 pm Leave a comment

Last Thursday I had a trip to London on business.  I was at an event called Marketing Week Live and I heard a talk from the Manchester United Marketing Director stating they had 333 million followers. Hopefully this blog will have as many followers in the near future!  As well as spending the day finding out all that’s new in the field of marketing I was also fortunate to be able to play in Wimbledon on Thursday evening.   Now you are probably thinking of the All England Club when I say Wimbledon and yes tennis was being played that day but I am referring to playing a game of Aussie Rules against Wimbledon Hawks.

 An Irish Exile, Ronan O’Morain had invited me to play for his team, the West London Wildcats and as I was in London it was a great opportunity to play an 18 a side game on a full oval with an aussie packed team.  The Wildcats have three teams in the club and are currently top of the ladder in the premier London league so they are a good standard attracting some of the best expats and travelling aussies.  Before the game I tried to learn every ones names but it is a little confusing when they are called Sauce, Soup and Rusty.  In the warm up I was referred to as Peter, Pete and Pedro, I wonder do all the players even know all their own nicknames!

They started me in at back pocket and we open well conceding only one goal in the first quarter.  In the second quarter I got a run out in the half forward line before going back to back pocket for the final two quarters.  I think I played well and the rest of the lads seemed happy with me as they were wondering when I could play again.  In the end we ran out convincing winners 16.12 108 to 5.3 33.  So it was a good experience all around as in Ireland we don’t get to play on full size ovals and only occasionally 18 a side games.  After the game the opposition Hawks had a few pitch side drinks with us. They wanted a boat race drinking race, being the new boy the Wildcats thought it would be a good idea for me to participate (I didn’t agree).  We lost the race no thanks to me, luckily I performed better on the field!  You can read the match report on the Wildcats site here http://www.pitchero.com/clubs/westlondonwildcats/news/results–round-8-vs-wimbledon-332727.html

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In the media The International Cup Draw announced

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gold Sponsors

Life Consulting logo
Life and Balance Centre logo

Recent Posts

Archives


